Felbrigg Near Cromer, Norwich NR11 8PR
Located north of Norwich, on the edge of the Norfolk coast in the village of Felbrigg, Felbrigg Hall is a 17th century country house. This National Trust property is open to the public to enjoy its gardens and Georgian interior.
The last owner of the house, before it passed into National Trust ownership, was Robert Wyndham Ketton-Cremer. His heir, his brother Richard, was killed in action in the Second World War. So, when Robert died, he passed the estate to the National Trust.
The Felbrigg estate covers 1,760 acres of parkland including the 520 acre Great Wood, which shelters the house. There is public access to the grounds along a number of way marked walks through the estate, including the Weavers’ Way long distance footpath. National Cycle Network regional routes 33 and 30 also pass through the estate allowing cyclists to enjoy the grounds.
The garden at Felbrigg Hall consists of a walled garden, an orangery and rose garden renovation. The walled garden contains a variety of fragrant and edible plants and herbs. The orangery was built in 1704 and houses a large collection of camellias. The rose garden is the latest edition to Felbrigg Hall’s garden, created in the 1970s.
Beyond the gardens is the Great Wood. Within its 520 acres are a number of hidden surprises. These include the Ice House, St Margaret’s Church, Felbrigg Lake and Robert’s memorial to his dead brother. Visitors can easily spend hours wandering through the Beeches, Oaks and Chestnuts that make up the wood.
While smaller than other country houses in the UK, Felbrigg hall is well appointed and full of a rich, personal history. The guides are very knowledgeable and are happy to show you around the house. But it is the gardens that are the real attraction.